Indonesia: Coronavirus – Indonesian Government Policy Updates on Travel and Immigration Restrictions


last updated on 1 April 2020 | reading time approx. 2 minutes


The Minister of Law and Human Rights has issued Regulation No. 11 of 2020 concerning Temporary Prohibition of Foreign Citizens Entry to the Territory of the Republic of Indonesia.


This Regulation is now fully prohibiting foreign citizens to enter into or transit in the Indonesian territory. Some exemptions apply for the following categories of foreign citizens:

  • Foreign citizens holding Limited Residence Permit and Permanent Residence Permit;
  • Foreign citizens holding Diplomatic Visa and Service Visa;
  • Foreign citizens holding Diplomatic Residence Permit and Service Residence Permit;
  • Humanitarian, medical, and food aid support staffs;
  • Conveyance crews; and
  • Foreign citizens working in national strategic projects.


Exempted foreign citizens as listed above are allowed entry into the Indonesian territory with the requirements of obtaining a medical clearance statement from health authorities in their respective countries, having stayed for 14 days in a country free from the Covid-19 virus, and consented to enter into a 14 days quarantine managed by the Indonesian government.

Foreign citizens holding an expired Visiting Stay Permit, Limited Stay Permit, or Permanent Stay Permit shall automatically be granted an emergency Residence Permit without having to submit an application to the immigration authorities; the issuance is free of charge.

In the event that the Covid-19 pandemic is officially declared to have ended, the process of Stay Permit extension shall follow the prevailing laws and regulations.

This Regulation is effective as of 31st of March 2020. As from the effectiveness of this Regulation, the Minister of Law and Human Rights Regulation No. 7 of 2020 and the Minister of Law and Human Rights Regulation No. 8 of 2020 shall be revoked.

Deutschland Weltweit Search Menu